18 Point Agreement Sarawak

The agreements, which are found in the proclamation of Malaysia and in the reports of the Cobbold Commission, set out the conditions and rights that were to protect the autonomy and special interest of the people of Sabah and Sarawak and protected, among other things, the rights of these regions in the fields of religion, language, education, administration, economy and culture. The current situation There have been numerous requests to revise the agreement to reflect social, economic and political changes over time. [2] The 20-point agreement or the 20-point memorandum is an agreement between the State of Sabah (then North-Borneo) with the federal government of the Federal Government of Mexico prior to the creation of Malaysia on September 16, 1963. A similar agreement was reached between the State of Sarawak and the federal government, but with some differences in their 18-point agreement. History The agreement was written with the main purpose of safeguarding the interests, rights and autonomy of the people of Sabah after the formation of the Malaysian federation. Initially, Sabah was expected to be one of the federation`s four units, the others being Malaya, Singapore and Sarawak. However, due to a lack of education and awareness, Sabah and Sarawak have often been confused as one of the 13 states of the Confederation. Sabah and Sarawak are not part of Malaysia, but a partnership or merger in Western Malaysia by what was known as Malaya (or tanah melayu or ketuanan melayu state) – they refer to the merger at the lower if Malaysia was formed, Concerns about maintaining the unique identities of these states as autonomous regions with different historical and cultural contexts led to negotiations of some leaders of the agreement known as the “20-point agreements” in the case of Sabah, and the “18-point agreements” with Sara. All these points were not later slaved, but in accordance with the Malaysian agreement, the Federal Constitution and legislation, such as the Immigration Act 1959/63, Sabah and Sarawak give a certain degree of autonomy and additional powers that are not available to other states.

For example, Sabah and Sarawak can control immigration in their states (including immigration from the rest of Malaysia), have a separate legal profession and a separate land regime, and obtain additional sources of income that are not available to other states. The 20 points were written with the aim of protecting the interests, rights and autonomy of the people of northern Borneo after the formation of the Malaysian Federation. A similar proposal, with some substantive differences, was made by Sarawak and is commonly referred to as the 18-point agreement. He stressed that history showed that Sarawak should form Malaysia with other states because of the influence and threats of communism. The cause of Sabah and Sarawak began to occupy the mainstream of political discourse in Malaysia after the 12th parliamentary elections in March 2008. The government coalition at the time, BN, lost much of its support in Western Malaysia and depended entirely on its East Malaysian components for a parliamentary majority. This has given Sabah and Sarawak, who together elect about 25% of MPs to the Federal Parliament, considerable influence over the federal government, which has led to the leadership of Eastern Malaysia being appointed to key positions at the federal level, such as the Ministers of Foreign Affairs, the Minister of Rural Development and the Speaker of Parliament. It is important to know these agreements for all Sarawakians/Sabahans, whether you are indigenous, Chinese, Malay or Indian. These points of convergence are not well known to the people of Sarawak and Sabah, because political leaders do not really want to expose you to such information that would jeopardize their domination and control over us.